Friday Favorites

I came across so many great blogs this week! Here are a few of my favorite, in no particular order:

Marybeth, aka MammaPie, writes Downside Up and Outside In. In the post About Seeing Color, Marybeth discusses White Privelege and that phrase “I don’t see color.” That phrase grinds on my nerves because unless you’re blind, you see color. Pretending otherwise, refusing to acknowledge that we come in many colors, is just disrespectful.

Monica at Healthy Green Moms writes about her thoughts on “living a healthy and simple life.” The Inconvenient Truth About Raising Kids talks about the real questions we have to ask ourselves as parents and examines how our past impacts our parenting.

I just love Amber Strocel‘s blog! Her posts are always reasoned and well-written. In Making Hospital Birth Better, Amber examines the polarization of birth options and if there are ways to make hospital births more comfortable. I really appreciated her thoughts, as I had the most medical delivery possible for Menininho: a planned c-section under general anesthesia. I honestly believe that a c-section was the best option for us, but too many women are led into births they don’t feel comfortable with, and we don’t address those issues well. Too often it becomes “all epidurals/c-sections are bad” or “you’re crazy if you choose a home birth.” I found many of the comments on this post to be insightful as well.

As my regular readers know, most Thursdays I participate in Mama Kat’s Writers’ Workshop. I came across the blog Peanut Butter in My Hair from that meme today. The author wrote a beautiful post entitled The Heart That Never Quits, about the love of mothers. Simple and moving.

I will have linking available next week. Apparently WordPress.com isn’t allowing me to use inlinkz. I have purchased my own domain name and will be moving the blog there this weekend. Stay tuned for more information!!! And as always, thanks for reading!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Friday Favorites

  1. Mammapie

    Dude! I am so, so, so flattered! You don’t even know how sillyoverthetop flattered I am. I love your blog and this makes me feel a little fangirlesque.

  2. Aw, you are so sweet! I found many of the comments to be very interesting, and I think I learned from them, too. I love it when that happens. I also love it when super-cool people like you say nice things about me. Thank you!

  3. I really like this weekly series you’re doing. It’s given me the opportunity to find some great blogs, a few of them belonging to people I already follow on Twitter! If you’ll be posting a linky, I’d like to participate when you do.
    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and commenting on my breastfeeding post. I really value your advice Maya. Thanks again and have a great weekend.

    Kristi, Live and Love…Out Loud
    @TweetingMama

  4. Thank you so much for the honor of appearing in your faves along with the other fine writers!(twitter friendly as well!)
    You made my day :)

  5. Hey again, just wanted to drop back and say how much I enjoy your writing. I’m having a hard time finding your “subscribe” button? Am I nuts or just having a mom moment??

  6. I can’t wait to check these out! Such a great idea to post great reads for the week

  7. Great list thanks!! Also thanks for the comment over at i.craft @ Bee Wise Bags!!

  8. I love that you share blogs that have touched you in some way during the week!

Leave a Reply

